Hall of Fame Inductees, DSA Award Winner Announced

CBS Correspondent Bob Scheiffer  Bob Schieffer, Gwen Ifill, Kenneth T. Walsh, and Toby McIntosh will be inducted June 9, 2009, into the Hall of Fame of the D.C. Pro Chapter of Society of Professional Journalists. Washington Post columnist Courtland Milloy will receive the Chapter's 2009 Distinguished Service Award for his many years of advocacy for disadvantaged and disenfranchised residents of the Washington metropolitan area.

NewsHour Correspondent Gwen Ifill  They will speak at the chapter's annual awards dinner at the National Press Club that night.

  Schieffer, CBS's chief Washington correspondent, will soon leave the post of anchor and moderator of the Sunday public affairs broadcast Face The Nation. He was interim anchor of The CBS Evening News from March 2005, until Aug. 2006.

  Ifill, moderates Washington Week and is senior correspondent for The NewsHour. She is author of The Breakthrough: Politics and Race in the Age of Obama.

USN&WR Correspondent Kenneth Walsh  Kenneth Walsh has been White House correspondent for U.S. News & World Report since the Reagan administration and has written four books about the presidency, the most recent being From Mount Vernon To Crawford: A History BNA Editor Toby McIntoshof the Presidents and Their Retreats.

  Toby McIntosh, himself a former White House correspondent for the Bureau of National Affairs, is the company's director of editorial quality review.

  Courtland Milloy's column about Washington and its residents has appeared in The Post since 1983.

Washington Post Columnist Courtland Milloy

  Each year the D.C. Pro Chapter selects for induction into the Hall of Fame up to four outstanding journalists from all media who have worked in Washington for at least 25 years. It honors one person who, through his or her work, has provided distinguished service as a journalist, by working to improve the skills of local journalists, or by working to facilitate news gathering and dissemination in the Washington metropolitan area.